Skip to Content

Are Club Crackers Vegan?

Are Club Crackers Vegan?

Some of you might not be hopeful that Club Crackers are vegan since they taste so buttery and delicious! Read on to find out (am I teasing?).

Club Crackers are generally considered vegan. They contain no dairy or eggs, and they are sweetened with sugar and not honey. The only ingredient you might be wary of is sugar, which may have been produced using bone char to make it look whiter.

As you can see in the ingredients below, these tasty crackers are thankfully clear of all animal products! And they are even fortified with some important vitamins such as B1 & B2 which help turn food into energy.

Club Crackers (Original) Ingredients

Let’s look at the ingredients of Club Crackers Original:

Club Crackers Original Ingredients: “Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), soybean oil (with TBHQ for freshness), sugar.

Club Crackers Original contain 2% or less of salt, high fructose corn syrup, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), corn syrup and soy lecithin.”

None of these ingredients are a problem for vegans, aside from the sugar, which as mentioned may be a problem for some stricter vegans who may question whether bone char featured in the sugar production process.

Some of you might have noticed that sugar is an ingredient that falls into a bit of a grey area when it comes to categorizing as vegan or not.

There can sometimes be cow bone char used in the filtration stage of processing industrial sugar. However, when companies use different suppliers it’s often impossible to know. 

Related:  24 Must-Have Vegan & Vegetarian Pantry Ingredients

I figure it’s important to make veganism sound accessible and not too extreme so I’m fine with it, and I’m not alone, most vegans are happy enough consuming sugar.

However, it’s important to consider the bigger picture which is that 100% is not always achievable and what we really want is “as close as possible”. Food is to be enjoyed after all, not to be feared or obsessed over.

We need more vegans in the world. If my sweet tooth is anything to go by, then we’d have a hard time convincing people to make the shift!

Do Club Crackers Contain Dairy?

Club Crackers do not contain dairy or lactose. It’s important to note, however, that the Club Crisps are not vegan as they contain dairy products such as nonfat milk, butter, and whey

The Reduced Fat Club Crackers contain sodium stearoyl lactylate, but don’t worry – it’s vegan too.

Do Club Crackers Contain Eggs?

Even though eggs feature in many cracker products, you’ll be happy to hear that Club Crackers do not contain eggs in any form.

Are Multigrain Club Crackers Vegan?

Multigrain Club Crackers are vegan. They do not contain dairy, eggs, honey or any animal products (except from bone char, which as mentioned may feature in the sugar part).

Here are the ingredients of Multigrain Club Crackers:

Multigrain Club Crackers Ingredients: “Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), soybean oil (with TBHQ for freshness), sugar, whole wheat flour, defatted wheat germ, oat bran. Contains 2% or less of leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), salt, high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, whole wheat, degerminated yellow corn flour, soy lecithin.”

Related:  Are Alive Vitamins Vegan?

Are Reduced Fat Club Crackers Vegan?

Multigrain Club Crackers are vegan. They do not contain dairy, eggs, honey or any animal products (except from bone char, which as mentioned may feature in the sugar part).

Here are the ingredients:

Reduced Fat Club Crackers Ingredients: “Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), soybean oil (with TBHQ for freshness), sugar, salt. Contains 2% or less of leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, sodium stearoyl lactylate, soy lecithin.”

Are Club Crackers Healthy?

It would be hard to claim that Club Crackers are healthy, especially when you take another look at the ingredients above – the top three are processed flour, sugar, and soybean oil! So, it might be best to enjoy them sparingly.

But now that you know Club Crackers are a safe bet, what will you top them with?

Enjoy!