Skip to Content

Are Pringles Vegan (All Flavors)

Are Pringles Vegan (All Flavors)

This is one of the most-asked questions when exploring what foods are vegan, and I get why! 

For a lot of us, Pringles bring us back to our childhood. 

People usually fell into two categories, those who tended to each Pringle slowly as they licked all the flavor off first, and those that couldn’t resist going for the immediate crunch! 

Which side of the fence were you on? Has it changed since?

Like most things in life, there’s not one answer that fits all. Most Pringles are not vegan. There are dozens of flavors worldwide with some varieties that are fully Vegan, and others to steer clear from.

As of November 2022, the list of vegan Pringles just got shorter! “You can’t be serious” I hear you say…but unfortunately this is the sad reality that has resulted in a lot of vegans feeling both confused and outraged. 

It is a bizarre move by Pringles and it feels like a step backward to completely alienate a growing subset of their customers. 

So, what happened? 

Unfortunately Pringles Original, Paprika, Smokey Bacon, Sweet Chilli, and Texas BBQ Sauce are now unsuitable for vegans due to the addition of milk.

A spokesperson for Pringles has said that “By adding milk we are able to increase capacity, save costs and reduce the amount of food waste”. They have not explained how exactly this works, and needless to say, it has sparked outrage amongst vegan activists and snack fanatics alike. 

At least there are still some vegan options if you can track them down, let’s hope it stays that way! 

Read on whether you are in need of satisfying a childhood craving or want to have some tasty snacks for when your vegan friends visit – you’ll find an option for sure!

Pringle Bells

Which Pringles flavors and varieties are vegan-friendly?

Depending on where you are in the world there might be different flavors available, but the original and salted varieties are vegan and can be found the world over.

And hey, it’s hard to beat Original Pringles carrying some tasty salsa or guac! 

But for those of you who like to make your taste buds dance, check out the list of vegan Pringles below.

List of Vegan Pringles

  • Pringles Sriracha Asian Chilli Sauce Flavor
  • Pringles Salsa de Chile Habanero Flavor
  • Pringles Wasabi & Soy Sauce Flavor
  • Pringles Original Tortilla Chips 
  • Bacon Flavor – (weird right…how are salt and vinegar not vegan and these are?)
  • Pringles Kickin’ Chicken Taco Flavor – (it keeps getting weirder).

All of these flavors are vegan and we have a nice selection of flavors to choose from, even if some of these don’t make sense!

Original, Paprika, Smokey Bacon, Sweet Chilli, and Texas BBQ Sauce are unsuitable for vegans due to the addition of milk.

Who would have thought Pringles Bacon would be vegan while we miss out on Pringles Extra Hot? I’m still delighted there are some spicy options, though, I love to feel the burn! 

Pringles Bacon

Unfortunately, all of the Pringle Rice and Pringle Extra varieties are not vegan as they contain milk derivatives, but the Pringle Original Tortilla Chips are super tasty and fully vegan so give them a try with some salsa.

In fact, check out our delicious vegan Pico De Gallo Salsa recipe – the perfect combination with a tasty Pringle!

Which ingredients should I watch out for?

When we start out on the vegan journey it can be time-consuming to read the ingredients, but in time you learn to know what to look out for and the no-go’s jump up to your eyes!

If a new flavor comes out and you want to check yourself, here are some key ingredients that are dead giveaways in knowing a product is not vegan: Whey, cream, milk, buttermilk, sodium caseinate, cheese cultures, whey protein concentrate.

You can also find all the listed ingredients for each flavor on https://www.pringles.com/uk/products.html.

What are Pringles anyway?

This is most likely a rhetorical question as Pringles are high up on the list of most popular snacks in the world, but what are these delicious duck-lip treats made from?

Pringles are potato-based snacks made from dehydrated potatoes (42%), wheat starch, corn & rice flour, as well as an emulsifier, yeast and salt.

Pringles ingredients

All of these base ingredients are plant-based and even the emulsifier E471 is derived from plant sources (thankfully)! 

But beware, they are addictive!

Closing Thoughts

If you are ready to pop open the Pringles, there are still plenty of options that will satisfy vegans and non-vegans alike.

I’d really recommend checking out the Pringles Sriracha Asian Chilli Sauce Flavor, they are divine if you like the spice kick! 

Let’s hope that Pringles slowly move away from using animal products, and we’ll be sure to keep an eye out for new flavors that come out.

Now, find out – are Kellogg’s Corn Pops vegan?